Food Log Friday & A Step-by-Step Guide to Super Nutrient-Dense Smoothies

Now that the weather is getting warmer, I find myself craving smoothies. Smoothies are considered a “health” food but with the wrong ingredients your smoothie may be as healthy as a Butterfinger Blizzard.

There is a vast nutritional difference between a smoothie made with sugar-filled ingredients like fruit juices, yogurts and agave and a smoothie made with frozen berries, spinach, collagen, avocado and water.

Don’t send your body on the blood sugar roller coaster with a milkshake posing as a smoothie. Choose stable blood sugar and health promoting ingredients with the step-by-step guide to building a super nutrient-dense smoothie below.


Step-by-Step Guide to Super Nutrient-Dense Smoothies

Choose 1-2 ingredients from each category to make a delicious and healthy smoothie.

Liquid

Fruits and Vegetables

  • ½-1 fresh or frozen banana
  • Fresh or frozen whole fruit: berries, cherries, pineapple, mango, figs, peaches
  • Frozen riced cauliflower or cauliflower broccoli mix
  • Cucumber
  • Cooked sweet potato

Greens

Protein (optional)

1-2 scoops of protein powder

Fat

  • ¼- ½ an avocado
  • 1-2 Tablespoons coconut oil
  • 1-2 Tablespoons nut butter with no added sugar
  • 1-2 Tablespoons coconut flakes

Extras

  • Cinnamon
  • Ground flax seeds
  • Soaked chia seeds
  • Aloe vera juice as liquid or frozen like ice cubes

To make smoothies quick and easy, prepare baggies with all of your desired smoothie ingredients and store in the freezer. When you’re ready to enjoy a smoothie, blend the contents of the baggie and your liquid of choice. Done!


Food Log Friday

Breakfast

I had a quick breakfast of pan-seared salmon, collards sautéed with onions in beef bone broth and turmeric tea with 1/2 TBS of coconut oil. Salmon is great for breakfast especially if you are allergic to or avoiding eggs.

 

IMG_0122

About 45 minutes after breakfast I headed to the gym for a BODYFLOW class. It’s a mix of tai chi, Pilates and yoga with a 10 minute meditation at the end. It forces me to stretch which is an important element of fitness that I often neglect. Also, you walk out of class feeling all relaxed and bendy and zen. It’s a nice way to start the day.

Lunch

IMG_0124

Lunch was kalamata olive stuffed chicken breast with a little dijon mustard and steamed broccoli, roasted butternut squash and 1/2 an avocado with sea salt.

Snack

My snack was a super nutrient-dense smoothie, of course. I blended up aloe vera juice ice cubes, water, frozen blueberries, 1 scoop of greens powder, left-over sweet potato hash, 2 scoops of collagen and 1/2 an avocado.

Dinner

IMG_0127

Dinner was 2 grass-fed hamburgers; actually 3. I ate another one after I finished this plate because I was still hungry. I made the hamburgers with sautéed onions, sea salt, pepper, garlic powder and coconut aminos and they were really good. Did you know that Trader Joe’s frozen grass-fed beef is only $5.99/lb? All the fresh grass-fed beef is at least $7.99. It’s a deal and tastes great. My sides were parsnip fries and greens beans that I steamed then sautéed with garlic.

Bedtime Tea

IMG_0128

About an hour before bed I had a sleepy tea with 1/2 TBS of coconut oil. Coconut oil supposedly helps to calm the nervous system which helps with sleep.

I do not cook 3 meals a day, everyday! I meal prep over the weekend so that I have quick, healthy options available whenever I’m hungry throughout the week. Want to meal prep but not sure how to get started? Check out my Tips & Tricks to Help You Dominate Meal Prep post.

Have a great weekend! Make a healthy smoothie!

 

Disclaimers:

I am not affiliated with the companies of any of the products I recommend or link to. They are simply high-quality products that I choose to use.

I am not a Registered Dietician or licensed medical doctor. I do not diagnose or treat disease, but instead make healthy lifestyle recommendations for balancing the body and promoting optimal wellness. No recommendation or comment made by me should be construed as being medical advice or diagnosis.

Leave a Reply

