Food Log Friday

Happy Friday!

What are you up to this weekend? You know what you should do?

Go see Beaty & the Beast 3-D! I went last night with a friend who was seeing it for the second time. It’s that good!

For those of you, like me, who saw the animated version one million times as a child, prepare to be amazed. It blows plain old animation out of the water. The 3-D element is amazing and Emma Watson is a perfect Belle! Josh Gad plays Gaston’s sidekick LeFou. He his hilarious as always but it’s so hard not picture him as Olaf the whole time. My point is – go see it for yourself!


Food Log Friday

Yesterday I had fasting blood work scheduled for 9am. Just routine stuff – cholesterol, vitamin D, metabolic panel, CBC, thyroid. Things I like to keep tabs on yearly just to make sure nothing is trending in the wrong direction. After my blood work I had errands to run so ate breakfast in the car. No extra fasting for me!

Breakfast

IMG_0113

I had 2 salmon cakes with a little bit of Fed & Fit’s Paleo Ranch ( I cheated and used store bought avocado oil mayo) and roasted butternut squash.

After running errands, I had a cup of turmeric tea. Turmeric is the IT anti-inflammatory superfood right now so I’m trying to incorporate it into my diet a little more.

I previously used one tea bag and it tasted like dirty water but with two tea bags you really get the turmeric flavor.

Lunch

IMG_0116

This plate is not pretty. Sorry. It looks sweaty because I had already heated it up. Lunch was kale sautéed with bacon, pan-fried chicken patties, Trader Joe’s steamed beets, a sheet of SeaSnax toasty onion seaweed and some GT’s Gingerade kombucha.

Snack

After all that lunch I thought I would be full but not so much. I was hungry about an hour later so I had some baked sweet potato with coconut oil, cinnamon and sea salt. The flavor combination is so, so good! Try it!

IMG_0115

Snack 2

I had a handful of watermelon while I was chopping it up along with some berries to have as quick snacks for the next few days.

IMG_0119

Dinner

We grabbed sushi at a little place next door to the movie theater before Beauty & the Beast. I had a wakame salad, an 8 piece Alaskan roll with krab, smoked salmon, avocado and masago and a 4 piece rainbow roll. The Alaskan with the smoked salmon is the best!

IMG_0118

Before bed I drank a hot cup of sleepy tea with coconut oil blended in. Coconut oil supposedly helps to calm the nervous system which helps with sleep.

IMG_0120

Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

