Food Log Friday & A Request for Podcast Recommendations

Hey, hey!

Do you listen to podcasts?

I first learned about podcasts through a trainer I was working out with during my NPC bikini days in 2011-2012. She told me that she listened to them while she cleaned the house. She didn’t dread cleaning so much if she was looking forward to listening to a podcast. Genius!

Since then, I have been listening to podcast when I clean the house, do yard work, cook, walk the dog, and any time I’m in the car. Over the years, I have mostly stuck with health and fitness related podcasts but I’m ready to branch out. I’ll never abandon the health related stuff but I’m in need of a little variety. Help me, please!

Do you have any fave podcasts? I’d love and appreciate any recommendations! I’m looking for anything totally unrelated to health and fitness. Funny, scary, serious, explicit, ridiculous…just not political. There’s enough of that on Facebook and everywhere else right now.

If you are the opposite of me and are looking to get into health and fitness related podcast here are four of my faves. They all offer high-quality information and entertainment from knowledgeable people.

Balanced Bites Podcast

One of the original paleo podcasts hosted by Diane Sanfilippo and Liz Wolfe. Because of it longevity, you can find at least one episode about pretty much any topic from gut heath to adrenal fatigue to fertility to carbs. By answering listener questions they give great nuggets of info and advice all while maintaining some funny banter.

Fat-Burning Man Show

Abel James is the fat-burning man and host of the show. All you need to know is that he has a super sexy voice. Super sexy. You won’t really care what the heck he’s talking about; trust me. But seriously, he is a great interviewer and talks with a wide range of health, fitness and wellness professionals.

The Paleo Women Podcast

As the name implies, this podcast primarily focuses on women’s health issues with a paleo/ancestral perspective. The show is hosted by Stefani Ruper, one of the first persons in the paleo-sphere to discuss how women’s dietary and health needs differ from men’s and Noelle Tarr who is a graduate of the Nutrition Therapy Association just like me. They answer listener questions and aren’t afraid to share their different perspectives on any issue.

The Tim Ferris Show

The Tim Ferris show is, of course, hosted by Tim Ferris. Tim is an excellent interviewer. He “deconstructs world-class performers” from diverse professions and “extracts their tactics, tools and routines” to help listeners use them in their own lives. Only some of the elite performers Tim interviews are athletes or health gurus however, many of the interviews involve some discussion of health, fitness and/or wellness tips that improve performance.

These are the four podcasts that I listen to most consistently. They are all available for free in iTunes. Give them a try. Let me know what you think.


Food Log Friday

Yesterday, I had breakfast around 8am. I made warm lemon water before I cooked breakfast but only ended up drinking 3-4 sips.

Breakfast was 2 pastured eggs scrambled with cherry tomatoes, 2 slices of baked bacon (the only way I can cook it without burning the shit out of it) and some cut up pineapple and strawberries. I also had 1/2 a cup of coffee with organic half and half and a teaspoon of coconut sugar.

img_0074

 

Breakfast kept me pretty full until around noon. Lunch was baked sweet potato, collards sautéed with balsamic vinegar and topped with raisins and roasted pine nuts, leftover chicken salad and a glass of raw milk. I’ve been experimenting with raw milk and cheese but only for about a week now. I’ll write more about it in a month or so.

img_0075

 

In the afternoon, I did a full-body circuit workout that I’ll post on Monday and vacuumed and cleaned the inside of my car. Only one of my afternoon activities was fun. After that I needed a snack so I made a quick smoothie with Vega protein & greens vanilla flavor, 1/2 a frozen banana, water and ice. That’s all and it tasted like banana pudding! For real!

img_0076

 

A little while later, I had a cup of homemade beef bone broth while I worked on this post. It’s always better in a monkey mug.

img_0077

For dinner I made nachos. This is what happens when you go to Trader Joe’s without a plan.

img_0078

I used TJ’s organic stone ground blue corn tortilla chips, refried black beans, corn, red bell pepper, tomatoes, onion, green chills, cheese (not raw this time) and cooked grass-fed ground beef to make the nachos. I topped them with goat milk yogurt which tastes like sour cream, salsa, avocado and lettuce. Boom!

img_0079

I drank a little Kevita Mojita Lime Mint Coconut Kombucha that I had leftover from making these. And that’s all folks!

Have a great weekend!

 

Disclaimer:

I am not a Registered Dietician or licensed medical doctor. I do not diagnose or treat disease, but instead make healthy lifestyle recommendations for balancing the body and promoting optimal wellness. No recommendation or comment made by me should be construed as being medical advice or diagnosis.

I am not affiliated with the companies of any of the products I recommend or link to. They are simply high-quality products that I choose to use.

Leave a Reply

