Food Log Friday & a Little Bit ‘Bout Bone Broth

Yay! It’s (almost) the freakin’ weekend! Hope you have some fun and relaxing plans!

Before we talk about what I ate yesterday, let’s talk about what I made…

Beef bone broth! And its super gelatinous!

I have made multiple batches of chicken bone broth that did not gel. Sure, they still contained nutritious minerals (calcium, phosphorous, magnesium, sodium, potassium, fluoride and sulfur) from the bones but I wanted the gel damn it! When the broth gels it literally looks like soup Jello. The gel means that the broth is full of gelatin, which is great for digestion and overall gut, join and skin health.

img_2844

The key (which I read a million times and ignored) is to use a mix of bones including joints and knuckles because the cartilage is full of gelatin and collagen. I have successfully made gelatinous chicken broth using the bones from bone-in chicken thighs because the joint is still attached. I just buy the bone-in chicken thighs, debone them before I cook them and store the raw bones in the freezer until I have collected about 2 pounds, which is enough for a crockpot of broth.

I purchased the beef bones that I used for this most recent batch of broth at a local farmers market. For those of you in G’ville, I bought them from Wild Man Foods at the Union Street Farmers Market which is in Bo Diddley Plaza on Wednesdays from 4-7pm. Beef bones can be used to make broth over and over until they pretty much disappear so I have round two going today. Not sure if it will be as gelatinous though…

img_0052

This is the recipe is always use but there are lots of variations out there. Broth is good in the fridge for 5 days and in the freezer for months. I usually freeze my broth in ice cube trays and then pull out a few cubes when I need it for a recipe or just a hot drink.


Breakfast

I sipped on some warm lemon water with a pinch of sea salt while I cooked breakfast.

2 eggs scrambled with asparagus, cherry tomatoes, spinach and Kerrygold Dubliner cheese; 1/2 a grapefruit and some gluten-free oats with grass-fed whole milk and 1 teaspoon of maple syrup.

 

I soaked the oats overnight in warm water and apple cider vinegar to increase digestibility and nutrient availability. Grains like oats and rice contain phytic acid which can inhibit absorption of some minerals.

Lunch

I love lamb (lamb not lamp) but my husband is not a big fan so I cook it for my lunch sometimes. Tyson may be a fan…

img_0058

Lunch was ground lamb sautéed with garlic, dried oregano and mint, cumin, salt and pepper. My plan was to make meatballs but I got lazy. Sides were steamed asparagus, brussels sprouts sautéed in a little butter with red bell pepper and some pan-fried potatoes.

img_0054

 

Snack

I tried a new chia pudding recipe for a snack and it was really good. I used coconut cream instead of coconut milk so it was really thick and coconut-y. Topped it with berries and enjoyed every bite!

img_0059

 

Dinner

The dinners I prepped over the weekend were goners so I had take-out. Chicken phad thai with a wakame salad. So good!

img_2860

3 thoughts on “Food Log Friday & a Little Bit ‘Bout Bone Broth

Leave a Reply

