Food Log Friday: What Does a Nutrition Therapy Consultant Eat?

I have been reading food/health/wellness/nutrition blogs for a while now. Probably, the last 5-6 years. One of the features I continue to really like on these blogs is posts about what people eat in a day. Is it weird to care about what a stranger eats all day? Most likely, but I find it interesting. Why? Because, through these posts I am introduced to new:

  • Recipes
  • Meal ideas
  • Cooking techniques
  • Products
  • Ways to incorporate superfoods
  • Things I didn’t even know about

So, I am going to give it a shot in hopes that you are introduced to something new. If you like this type of post, please let me know by leaving a comment. If you don’t like them, that’s fair, feel free to tell me why just be nice about it.

Disclaimer: One – I eat different things and different amounts of food everyday. This is just a snapshot of my entire diet. Two – I snapped all these pics on my phone as quickly as possible right before I ate so some are a little rough.


Breakfast

I always start my morning with a little warm lemon water with a pinch of salt.

img_0041

I sip on that in between feeding and taking out the dog and finding other random things that need to be done before I get around to breakfast.

 

Breakfast was two scrambled eggs with Kerrygold Dubliner cheese and 2 Trader Joe’s (TJ’s) gluten-free pumpkin pancakes with a little grass-fed butter and real maple syrup. I bought the syrup at a farmers market in Edmonton, Alberta while there for my cousin’s wedding. It’s the real deal! And it was a great wedding!

I initially found this pancake mix before Thanksgiving but our TJ’s has been out of it since…until this week. I was pumped to see it back so obviously I had to have pancakes this week. The good news is, they taste amazing. The bad news is, as I was looking at the ingredient list a little closer yesterday, there is some canola oil in there. I try to avoid refined oils but a little is not the end of the world especially since these are really good and I don’t eat them every day. I actually made these pancakes the day before and heated them up in the toaster.

After breakfast, I had about 3 sips of Red Velvet coffee with half and half and a little coconut sugar. I’m trying to eliminate caffeine because it really messes up my sleep but sometimes I need a little fix. It’s so good!

img_0042

Lunch

Chicken salad, roasted sweet potatoes and red onion, roasted broccoli and 1 big beet with 1 baby beet that you can hardly see.

img_0036

 

Snack

I cleaned and did yard work all day, super glamorous, so I was starving a few hours after lunch. I ate the rest of the leftover chicken, bacon, ranch casserole from dinner the night before. It’s good but makes for an ugly picture. I also ate a Medjool date but forgot to take a pic.

img_0037

 

Dinner

Salmon cake with dijon mustard, collards sautéed with bacon, mashed  potatoes and three squares of dark chocolate with sea salt and almonds which is the absolute best combo!

 

Happy Friday! Have an awesome and active weekend!

2 thoughts on “Food Log Friday: What Does a Nutrition Therapy Consultant Eat?

  1. Love it… this is just what I’m looking for… need fresh ideas for meals…
    I do love reading what total strangers eat but then you are not one.😋

    Like

Leave a Reply

